Why blog?

I’ve always preferred journal writing over blogging because in my journal I can make mistakes and say whatever I want. I don’t write because I’m eloquent; I write because it’s always been my number one obsession, a kind of tortuous self-therapy on automatic pilot. Even before I knew what I was doing was called writing, I did it. I find solace in it, but it’s also horribly painful. The psychological hold and emotional aspect of the work can be too much at times.

So for my blog, I decided to give myself permission to take a break from my writing obsession and focus on some of my other obsessions—hence, the name “Little Wayward Typewriter.” I have a lot of things I want to write about that don’t relate to writing, editing, or publishing. Some are things that I never imagined I’d find interesting and some are things that have always been my obsessions whether I knew it or not. I like the idea of being able to blog about anything and everything.

And away we go…

2 Comments on “Why blog?”

  1. I tend to hate blogs. Sometimes I want to write one myself but then realize I shouldn’t for fear that I will end up hating myself. This blog, however, I happen to know I’m going to love! Thank you, Sam!


Leave a Reply

